Vietnamese Prime Minister signed Wednesday a directive to waive visa requirements for citizens of five European countries, starting July 1.

The visa-free travel policy will be applicable to German, French, British, Italian, and Spanish visitors, with an allowed 15-day stay for each entry, according to the document.

Vietnam will waive visas for the five countries for one year from the directive’s effective date. These countries do not have a similar policy for Vietnamese citizens, however.


The Southeast Asian country currently applies a one-sided free-visa policy to eight countries, including Japan, South Korea, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Sweden, Russia, and Belarus.

This measure will hopefully enable Vietnam to win back international tourists, at a time when the country’s foreign tourist arrival numbers have repeatedly slumped for 12 consecutive months.

Source: TuoiTreNews

Leave a Reply

Notify of